Boys and their toys

11 08 2011

I commute to work every day on the commuter bus and there is not a whole lot to do except to read and/or sleep. The trip normally takes about 45 minutes – 1 hour.  But, then there are days like the other day where there is traffic  that is so heavy that the commute time can easily expect to be doubled.  At least the bus was air conditioned and for the most part (if you don’t have bad back like me) comfortable.

What made this ride singularly different was the unexpected “competition” that ensued.  It made me realize just how many “toys” I actually carry around.  I was not consciously trying to compete, mind you, but on an unconscious level I guess I allowed it to happen.  Or was I just showing off?  Nawww that can’t be it.  You must be chomping at the bit now to find out what in the world I’m talking about.  Well without further adieu I guess I’ll just jump right into it. 🙂

There I sat realizing that I was in this for the long haul… after all, my only alternative was to get out and walk.  So I pulled out my Barnes & Noble Color Nook and started reading the Sci-Fi book that I downloaded for free.  I was well aware of the gentleman sitting next to me.  It was hard not be aware of him because he was producing an extremely abnormal (IMHO) amount of heat.  In my peripheral vision I saw him continuously glancing over at my book reader.  Finally he reached down into his bag and pulled out… you guessed it, his book reader.  But I noticed that this poor fellow had gone over to the “dark side.” for he owned an Amazon Kindle 3.  I had to smile inwardly at his pitiful attempt to produce a better device. 

Realizing that I was going to be on the bus for quite a while yet and that my boss was stuck  in the same traffic, I thought it prudent to text her.  So I put my Nook on my lap and pulled out my HTC Inspire Android phone (operating on AT&T’s wannabe 4G network).  My competitor put down his Kindle and produced an Apple iPhone4.  Another sad attempt but I have to admit this one did stand up better to the challenge!  Having sent my messages I put the phone away.  What a coincidence, so did the “brutha” next to me.

Now I started thinking about work and my to-do list!   So… you guessed it, I put the Nook down once again and reached back into the bag for yet another “toy.”  I pulled out my Acer  A500 10.1 inch android tablet.  As the pride welled up inside of me I thought for sure, “I’ve got this dude beat now.”  Not so!  With an almost undetectable smirk on his face,  he pulled out his Samsung Galaxy tablet complete with internet access!  But he didn’t have the apps I had!!!  I pulled up Angry birds and so did he.  I pulled up Angry Birds Rio… he had to download it!  YES!  I had him now. 🙂  Well after we were done with Angry Birds we both put the tablets away.   And it was almost with a somber attitude that he turned to me and said, “I’m done.  You got anything else and you win.”   That was the first time it hit me that we were actually in a competition.  I thought to myself… ‘should I be humble and end this thing with a tie or do I reach into “the bag” again?’  Well, you know I couldn’t resist.   I unzipped the front pocket of my work bag and pulled out my Apple iPOD touch (my one and only “cross-over” device).  He offered me his hand and we shook.  All I could think of as I put on my music was ‘Boys and their toys’ and so had to write this blog entry.


Actions

Information

2 responses

17 08 2011
gingerporter

Now that is hilarious. That would have made a very comical video and what a commercial…LOLOL!!

6 05 2015
4given1

Circumstances have changed and I have so many more “Toys” now. 🙂 But because I am driving I am not likely to run into the same situation.

Leave a comment