Thermal events and such

29 04 2008

Are you familiar with the old press any key to continue messages? (see image on the left) They used to frustrate people to no end because there was no “any key” on the keyboard. Then the Northgate computer company had to come out with the “Any Key” keyboard. The worst invention in the world!—in my humble opinion. If you press the any key it started a process or redefining your keyboard and remapping the keys. So if you press the “any key” and then type “quit” you wold change the “q” key to type the letter “u”; and the “i” key to type the letter “t”. You can imagine the chaos this would cause….and I was a desktop technician during this time and had to deal with it. How did I get onto that? Ahh yes, the whole point of this blog entry was about my fight with MY computer yesterday morning.

I got up early and thought that I would do full system maintenance on my computer. It was starting to act kind really funky and the day had not even started yet. Well, the maintenance went well, but then it was time to restart the compter. I’ve been leaving it on because half the time it would restart but never boot up. I get a blank monitor (and, by the way, the monitor works fine) and absolutley no video feed; and the other half of the time my computer experiences a “Thermal Event.”

In short, it gets too hot. Sometimes it gets too hot in the middle of what I’m doing, so, I keep things backed up often! Other times, like this morning, it decided it was too hot when I shut the computer down, but did not decide to tell me about it until I restared. I guess it was being kind.

Its kind of on its next to last leg, and I’m planning on replacing it, and surely I could make the decision to just go ahead and do so, hopefuily before its too late, but I’m waiting for the moon and stars to come into the right alignment, and all of the other factors to get in line as well. You know the drill, there is always something else…..until one day…..poof! . The real question is: when all of those things come into alignment, will the best deals still be available? I saw a nice deal (and I’m not telling where until I buy the computer and I know they won’t run out) that is one of those just too good to believe offers. But there is a good possibility that I will miss out on that one and wind up spending more to get a comparable machine.

I can hear myself talking when folks tell me about how bad off their computers were and how long they’ve known about it. Then when its just about to take its last breath, the call (you guessed it) me. “Oh well, should have replaced it when you could have.” I tell people. But do I listen to that myself? In the mean time I leave my computer running so that I don’t have to deal with what happens in trying to turn it on. The 50% of the time that the computer comes on and does not boot or have video (I kid you not) if I slap it on the side and then shut it down then it will boot. Sometimes it will take 3 to 4 slaps and reboots, but eventually it comes back on. Without the slap, though nothing happens. So I just let the thing go into sleep mode and keep it running all the time—Not my preference, because it is still using electricity, but for now it will have to work. I feel like the computer hits me back when it comes up with one of its thermal events. Then, it is nice enough to give me all of the options of the things I can do and the keys I can press. Woo Hoo! One of these days its going to go into its thermal event phase and actually melt down! Hopefully that will be long after its third stage existence. Third stage existence is being relegated to a server for backups and file storage only. That way I can get all of the usage out my computers that I possibly can.

Then comes the day when I move it to fourth stage existence. That is usually giving it away to someone else who has very light computer use, knowing that even with that drastic change, the computer will still…..shall we say……die. Until then, its the survival of the fittest (which works for me fighting computers, but has no place in creation.) So, in your prayer time please pray for my computer 🙂 If you don’t have a prayer life, well here is a perfect opportunity to start one.


Actions

Information

3 responses

29 04 2008
dadivastreet

A Computer Person’s Prayer

“Our program who art in memory,
Hello be thy name;
thy Operating System come,
thy Commands be done,
on the Printer as they are on the Screen.
Give us this day our daily Data,
and forgive us our I/O Errors,
as we forgive those whose Logic Circuits are faulty;
and lead us not into frustration,
but deliver us from Power Surges;
for Thine is the Algorithm, and the Application, and the Solution,
looping for ever and ever.
Return.”

From “The Binary Bible”

Well, lets not forget this one…..

Help me log on without fretting
Guide me, as I am interneting
Bless my downloading and uploading
Keep my browser from exploding
May my website be protected?
Let not my password be rejected
Keep my line always connected
And all my inputs be accepted
Please keep my entire program alive
And to remember to back up my hard drive
And protect my computer from crashing drive,
From a virus that would make it nesting hive

Amen

29 04 2008
capitalggeek

I thought you would have remembered the litany from the help desk…. ‘the any key is another term for the space bar. The label usually wears off because of use…’

As to your overheating,
Thermal shutdowns are fairly drastic. You probably have a fan that is going bad, either on the power supply, or more likely the cpu fan. I’ve also seen clogged heat sink vanes or lack of thermal grease cause it too. You can probably solve your problems by stripping it to its components, cleaning/dusting and reassembly. And did I say thermal grease?

And with anything tech… You’ll never spend more or get less by waiting.

I can tell you without a doubt that it *is* the CPU fan. I’m on my third fan in this machine. (Odd, huh?). I am now at the point where I am cleaning it out every couple of weeks to help it out….which to me is excessive. The area it is in doesn’t have any more than your normal dust accumulation. Time to bail, I think.

Out of curiosity I just checked the best buy site. 1 week after I bought that laptop for $699, you can’t get the same sale or the extra $100 instant off offer. It now sells for $999.00. Glad I didn’t wait!

2 05 2008
gingerporter

Ummmm….Isn’t your “Office” in the back part of your laundry room? I don’t care what kind of vent you have on your dryer….You got dust!!!

Warren…You are too funny.

Leave a comment