Success!!!

8 01 2008

The drain is cleared and I didn’t call a plumber!

 I went back to Home Depot and actually found somebody there (Chris) who was very helpful.  So the new imponderable……Where was Chris last night?

He explained to me that the 25 foot snake was more flexible and probably would work in the bathtub just fine.  So I had a choice to make…..pay another $25 in rental fees or call a plumber and pay him $50 just to walk in the door.  Well it was kind of a no brainer.  And the 25 foot snake worked. 

3 hours later…….

Yeahhhhhhh!  The sink is now fixed.  It cost $2.00 for the part that I cracked and then I remembered, (since I still couldn’t get a seal) that plumber’s putty works wonders and can be used liberally!  That took all morning and the early part of the afternoon.

But I learned a few things from this little plumbing lesson (that is not yet over and won’t be complete until I get the sink fixed):

  • I still hate snakes (plumbing or otherwise, especially big snakes!)
  • Start small and work your way up!
  • If you’re really not sure something is going to work……maybe you shouldn’t do it

I’m sure there are some other valuable lessons in there, but you will have to come to men’s prayer at Heritage Baptist Church on January 26th to hear them when I do the devotion that morning.

If you would like to hear my wif’e’s take on the whole thing….or at least last night’s part of it, she told me that she metioned something about it on her blog.


Actions

Information

3 responses

8 01 2008
gingerporter

I think you jinxed us……

Robbie flushed the toilet and the handle snapped off…..My husband is currently standing here trying to fix the tank handle….no more plumbing problems if you don’t mind…..LOL

9 01 2008
Blogmaster

I have a spare if you want I can bring it with me to church tonight. Best of all its metal….great for the heavy handed youngster! I got a couple free from a client that hauls stuff away for banks and foreclosure companies. I used one to replace a handle that my heavy handed teens broke.

12 01 2008
gingerporter

I lost my comment….I’ll just tell Randy and he can tell you….but yes, we could use your spare if you have enough spares…. 🙂

Leave a comment