Harry Homeowner I am NOT!

8 01 2008

I guess we can consider this an imponderable and we (the would be the “collective we” ) can subtitle it:  Why do we try to fix things ourselves when somebody else can do it. 

 Well, here goes nothing.  My bathtub was clogged and I was going to impress my wife with my DIY (do it yourself) skills.  HA!  What a joke it turned out to be.  After talking with a couple of plumber friends, I knew exactly what needed to be done. Of course, in this case knowing what needs to be done and actually getting it done are two different things!  I went to Home Depot and got a snake.  I was going to snake that drain out and get that clog right out of my house.  WRONG!  The snake would only go so far!  I paid to rent a 75 foot snake that I only got to use 8 feet of!  And NO, I never was able to get the drain cleared.

Well since the bathtub was not being cooperative, I decided I would got throug the sink.  So, I took the pipes under the sink off and started the process.  SCRREEEECH! No dice. I came to a screeching halt.  The snake got stuck here too!   ARRRRRGH!  To make matters worse, I now had a leak in a sink that was fine beofre I started “fixing” things.  Well, after locating the leak and determining the fix for the problem, I got my handy dandy tools ad went to work.   In my frusration I over tightened the connection and cracked the seal.  At first I thought I’d be able to get away with it.  No Sirrrreeeee!  Now the sink leaks and when I go back to Home Depot to return the snake in morning I have to get my sink repair stuff.  No, I’m not a happy camper.  As soon as I get home and have my sink repaired, I will promptly call a plubmer–which is what I should have done in the first place.   Why Did I ever try to fix it myself?


Actions

Information

One response

12 01 2008
gingerporter

Because you are of the male species….the same species that refuses to stop and ask for directions… ❓ I’m guessing could be the reason?

🙂

Leave a comment