If Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus, how did we get to Earth?

1 02 2008

Have you ever heard the saying:  “Men are from Mars, Woman are from Venus?” It is all stems from a book of the same title by Dr. John Gray.  He even has a his own website that is supposedly devoted to helping men and women with their differences.  It is a very worldly view and often used crutch to explain why men and women don’t get along when they don’t.  My wife and I are different, but I personally don’t think that I’m married to a Venuvian (is that the correct term, perhaps I should ask a woman.  Not being from Venus would she even know?)

The world is willing to lean on this crutch and use it just sweep things under the carpet.  Or they try to make a subtle inference to it and just say well that’s how women are, or that’s how men are!   There is not doubt that God made men and women different (Praise the Lord!  I’m so glad He knows what He’s doing!)  But in that way we can compliment each other.   Oh, by the way men, no matter how “strong” your wife is, do not neglect the fact that the Bible specifically states that she is the WEAKER vessel.   I have a hard time remembering that one myself sometimes!

So instead of using the what I will call the “Planetary Crutch”and sweeping things under the carpet…….wouldn’t it be easier (and by the way I’m not perfect at this— not by a long shot) if we just DEALT with them?  Did anybody happen to notice that in the Biblical creation, God never mentioned Venus or Mars, but it was on earth that he CREATED man.  Hmmmmmm now there’s something to think about.    Maybe I’ll write a new book:  Men are Eden, Women are from Eden!   No then somebody will try to come along and say, “well men are from west Eden, and women are from eastEden.  Yeah that explains it!” 

Adam said of Eve:  “This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.”  So we can at least assume (and yes, I know that’s dangerous) that they were on the same planet.  One thing is certain, we are not an accidental junction of amino acids which bled off of some rock an met in a pool only to evolve over billions of years (on an earth that is only about  10,00 years old!) into what we are now.
OK so to wrap it all up,  why don’t we deal with the problems and get off of the “Planetary Crutch?”


Actions

Information

Leave a comment